Hawthorns and horses

There are two hawthorns, did you know that?

Hawthorns are part of the Rosaceae family. 

  • The leaves are toothed and the branches carry spines that protect them from herbivores.
  • Those are slow-growing thorny shrub with a lifespan of up to 500 years.

  • The trunk bears a gray-brown, scaly and cracked bark.
  • The leaves are deciduous, alternate, simple, lobed (3 to 5 lobes), toothed at the periphery,
  • the flowers are white sometimes pinkish, with numerous stamens with red anther before fertilization. They have 5 petals and 5 triangular sepals,
  • the fruits are cenelles (or red drupes), 
  • elles préfèrent les sols frais à secs, les haies champêtres, et les lisières forestières, de préférence au soleil,
  • their best-known property is the prevention of mild cardiac disorders, strengthening the resistance of blood vessels: the plant, both its berries, its leaves and its flowers, is devoid of toxicity.
  • our horses can eat it: they go there with delicacy because of the thorns,
  • in homesteading we use wood to make tool handles.

There is the two-style hawthorn (Crataegus laevigata).

Laevigata means “creamy, smooth.

It has as a particularity

  • the petioles of its leaves are glabrous and not pubescent or slightly downy,
  • it blooms earlier from April to May
  • its flowers have two styles,
  • its fruits with 2 or 3 kernels, remain fixed on the tree and are visible in winter,
  • it prefers calcareous soils.

And the hawthorn with one style (Crataegus monogyna).

It has as a particularity

  • toothed leaves only in the upper part,
  • it blooms later from May to June,
  • its flowers have a style, and its fruits have only a kernel
  • it supports lightly shaded environments.

=> come and discover the wild plants during the workshops organized at Val de Vie !

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply